Get Better Gear!

Premier Sponsors

TechRestore

Other World Computing

Top 5 Free Apps

Release Date: August 05, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: May 22, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: August 29, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: March 27, 2009
Release Date: August 07, 2009

iTunes New Music Releases

Release Date: September 29, 2009
Genre: Rock
Release Date: September 20, 2009
Release Date: September 15, 2009
Release Date: August 25, 2009
Genre: Rock
Release Date: August 25, 2009

Top 5 Paid Apps

Release Date: April 22, 2009
StickWars $0.99
Release Date: March 31, 2009
Genre: Games
Bloons $0.99
Release Date: April 05, 2009
Genre: Games

Discover New Music

  • Rift

    • 8 out of 10
    • Phish
    • This quasi-concept album (the only of its kind) from these Vermonters finally showcased their ability to convey a message with a studio album, whereas previously they only succeeded in doing so live.
  • 2112

    • 10 out of 10
    • Rush
    • We all know it, right? Well, ya just gotta have it. 2112 finally showed Rush out on their own, doing their own thing, and doing it well, IMHO.
  • Go Away White

    • 10 out of 10
    • Bauhaus
    • Go Away White is an album I've been waiting more than 20 years to hear, and the good news is that it was worth the wait.  The latest -- and last, no...for real this time -- album from

  • Velocifero

    • 6 out of 10
    • Ladytron
    • "Back to the future" isn't the right turn of phrase for Ladytron's newest album,

  • Buffy the Vampire Slayer - Once More, with Feeling

    • 10 out of 10
    • Various Artists
    • Most musical episodes of TV shows frankly stink. They are usually little more than ill-conceived vehicles intended to let the stars show off what musical talent they have. Once More, With Feeling,

Reader Specials

Visit Deals On The Web for the best deals on all consumer electronics, iPods, and more!

In-Depth Review

Review Update:  NextWorth Buying Service Reconsiders, Pays Up

On June 29, I wrote about my experience selling my one year old iPhone 3G to the electronics buying service, NextWorth. Their actual appraisal was much less than the original quote, but right after my review was published, I received a new quote, revised substantially upwards.

Recall that before I mailed it, I shot a video of the exterior of the iPhone 3G with an iPhone 3GS showing that it was in perfect condition. However, my first email from the company claimed it had scratches and offered me about $64 less than the original quote of US$253. That appraisal arrived via e-mail on June 29, the same day my review was published. (I intentionally never told NextWorth that I was with The Mac Observer.)

NextWorth June 29

First e-mail, June 29

I have no evidence that my review was ever seen by NextWorth. However, on July 3rd, I received a second identical, boilerplate e-mail but with the dollar amount of the offer revised upwards. There was no explanation offered whatsoever.

NextWorth July 3

Unexpected, unexplained second e-mail, July 3

Note that the e-mail states that I might have to wait up to 10 business days to receive my payment via PayPal. However, on July 3rd, I received an e-mail from PayPal stating that US$224.25 had been deposited to my account. That was, to say the least, a fast transaction.

Again, I have no way of knowing whether NextWorth saw the review. It could be that a manager who reviews appraisals stepped in, found this one amidst many hundreds or thousands, and overrode the initial appraisal. I'll let the facts speak for themselves and let you, the readers, draw your own conclusions about the timing of events and this company.

Also, the original review linked above had several reader comments, worth reviewing, that also described experiences with this company, both good and bad, and a competitor, Gazelle.com.

 

1 comments from the community.

You can post your own below.

ChoMomma said:

As always.

Better service through online floggings : )

   Quote

Page 1 of 1 pages

Post Your Comments

  Remember Me  Forgot your password?

Not a member? Register now. You can post comments without logging in, but they'll show up as a "guest" post.

Commenting is not available in this section entry.