Get Better Gear!

Premier Sponsors

Other World Computing

TechRestore

Top 5 Free Apps

Release Date: August 05, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: May 22, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: August 29, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: March 27, 2009
Release Date: August 07, 2009

iTunes New Music Releases

Release Date: September 29, 2009
Genre: Rock
Release Date: September 20, 2009
Release Date: September 15, 2009
Release Date: August 25, 2009
Genre: Rock
Release Date: August 25, 2009

Top 5 Paid Apps

Release Date: April 22, 2009
StickWars $0.99
Release Date: March 31, 2009
Genre: Games
Bloons $0.99
Release Date: April 05, 2009
Genre: Games

Discover New Music

  • Album Of The Year

    • 10 out of 10
    • Brother Love
    • Killer grooves, catchy riffs, edgy vocals with oh-so-just-right layered harmonies, and a drive that will move even YOU out of your chair, Brother Love's initial release is what rock and roll should be
  • 8:30

    • 10 out of 10
    • Weather Report
    • This is Weather Reports quintessential line-up captured live. Jaco Pastorious and Peter Erskine join Wayne Shorter and, of course, Joe Zawinul to create this masterpiece.
  • Spanks for the Memories

    • 8 out of 10
    • Asylum Street Spankers
    • The Asylum Street Spankers are...well...The Spankers. Hailing from Austin, where I saw them live dozens of times, the band played entirely acousti

  • De Nova

    • 10 out of 10
    • The Redwalls
    • Wow! Perhaps my 5-star rating is simply because the Redwalls are not only new and fresh (none of them older than 22!), or perhaps its because -- despite their ages -- they are able to totally capture
  • Physical Graffiti

    • 10 out of 10
    • Led Zeppelin
    • This album bears every flavor of genius from the five records that came before. It is, I believe, the band's finest. With Physical Graffiti, Zep came raging back to their musical home territory -- har

Reader Specials

Visit Deals On The Web for the best deals on all consumer electronics, iPods, and more!

In-Depth Review

Belkin Micro Grip case (for iPhone 3G)

Most of the cases I review do what they're supposed to do. Some do it better than others. Some are a better value than others. But most of the iPod and iPhone cases I've tested pretty much do what they're designed to do -- provide protection for your handheld device.

The Belkin Micro Grip case does what it's designed to do. It's mostly a well-designed and well-made case. The textured rubber exterior it's named for does indeed make it easier to grip than some cases. It's easy to put on and take off, is thin and lightweight, and allows docking without removing it. Available in black and pink, it's even kind of handsome if you go for that spider-webby look.

Unfortunately, in spite of all that's right about this case it has a flaw so annoying I can't possibly recommend it. That flaw is that there is rubber over the iPhone's Home button, and that rubber makes it significantly more difficult to press the button. It rarely worked the first time I pressed it. It sometimes took three, four, or even five presses to get the iPhone to recognize that it's Home button had been pressed. It was so bad sometimes that I lifted the front of the case and stuck my finger under it to press the Home button.

The Bottom Line

I've tested many cases that cover the Home button but this is the only one that made it significantly more difficult to press. And so, gentle reader, for that reason I don't recommend this case in spite of its otherwise appealing features.

Just The Facts

Pros:Rubberized exterior does provide for a better grip than some cases.

Cons:Covering the Home button with rubber makes it significantly more difficult to press.

Post Your Comments

  Remember Me  Forgot your password?

Not a member? Register now. You can post comments without logging in, but they'll show up as a "guest" post.

Commenting is not available in this section entry.