Get Better Gear!

Premier Sponsors

TechRestore

Other World Computing

Top 5 Free Apps

Release Date: August 05, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: May 22, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: August 29, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: March 27, 2009
Release Date: August 07, 2009

iTunes New Music Releases

Release Date: September 29, 2009
Genre: Rock
Release Date: September 20, 2009
Release Date: September 15, 2009
Release Date: August 25, 2009
Genre: Rock
Release Date: August 25, 2009

Top 5 Paid Apps

Release Date: April 22, 2009
StickWars $0.99
Release Date: March 31, 2009
Genre: Games
Bloons $0.99
Release Date: April 05, 2009
Genre: Games

Discover New Music

  • Spanks for the Memories

    • 8 out of 10
    • Asylum Street Spankers
    • The Asylum Street Spankers are...well...The Spankers. Hailing from Austin, where I saw them live dozens of times, the band played entirely acousti

  • Odyssey Number Five

    • 10 out of 10
    • Powderfinger
    • Guitar-driven rock out of Australia, Powderfinger has not seen much exposure in the States, but should get a nod for their toe-tapping songs. Building off their previous release, "Internationalist" (
  • An Evening with George Shearing & Mel Torm�

    • 10 out of 10
    • Mel Torm� & George Shearing
    • Of the three men who taught me how to sing, the last was Mel Torme. Apparently, Mel Torme is a joke to anyone more than a decade older than me, a living parody of a Vegas crooner. But I stumbled on th
  • King James Version

    • 4 out of 10
    • Harvey Danger
    • The sophomore effort from Harvey Danger, I was really looking forward to this followup to "Where Have All the Merrymakers Gone?" Unfortunately, "King James Version" failed to deliver any of the bri

  • Zooropa

    • 10 out of 10
    • U2
    • This record is perhaps U2's finest hour, yet it has been forgotten as a strange by-product of the ZooTV tour's overload, and is generally regarded by most fans as a poor effort. It is this sentiment t

Reader Specials

Visit Deals On The Web for the best deals on all consumer electronics, iPods, and more!

In-Depth Review

Case-Mate Signature Leather Case for iPhone 3G

The Case-Mate Signature Leather Case for iPhone 3G is one of the most beautiful and elegant cases I've tested so far. It's sturdy and stylish, and provides good (but not great) protection for your iPhone 3G. Handcrafted of soft Italian Napa leather layered over a stiff shell, it comes in either black or red and it looks great in both.

When I reviewed the first-generation of this product last year (click here to read that review), I said it was my favorite at the time. I like the new version almost as much.

Like the first generation case, your iPhone is fully functional except when docking (something almost all cases prohibit) and offers a significant amount of protection for your iPhone.

The case includes a self-adhesive screen protector sheet that covers the touch screen without impairing functionality. While other cases include this, it's a feature I heartily approve of and consider a real benefit in any case. I also like that this case is rigid underneath the soft leather and offers a reasonable degree of protection for most of my iPhone. The design leaves a small portion of the back of your iPhone (near the camera lens) without protection, but other than that your phone is well-protected against bumps and scratches.

Another nice feature is that you can have your case personalized with your name or initials laser-etched on the back of the case in your choice of 4 fonts at no additional cost.

The big difference between this case and the first generation case is that the first generation case came with a removable belt clip and the 3G case does not. I liked that feature for a couple of reasons. First, I don't usually want or need a belt clip on my iPhone case, but sometimes I do. I considered the fact that the clip was detachable a benefit and was also pleased that removing the clip left the back of the case totally smooth with no post sticking out.

Alas, the Signature Series Leather Case for iPhone 3G has no clip at all. What's worse is that if you want a clip, you must order the optional holster for an additional $15.

That wouldn't have bothered me as much if the original case hadn't included a great removable belt clip and cost the same as the new 3G case with no clip. On the other hand, if you don't care about having a clip, this feature (or lack of a feature) won't make a bit of difference to you.

There is one last thing. . . This case is also available wrapped in a unique carbon fiber-like leather in black or silver for $49.99 (click here for info) or bundled with a black or silver carbon fiber holster for $79.99 (click here for info).

The Bottom Line

The Signature Series Leather Case for iPhone 3G is a beautiful and well-designed case that offers good (but not great) protection for your iPhone at a reasonable cost.

Just The Facts

Pros:Elegant, handsome, free personalization, easy access to all controls.

Cons:No belt clip, portion of the back side of your phone is not protected.

Post Your Comments

  Remember Me  Forgot your password?

Not a member? Register now. You can post comments without logging in, but they'll show up as a "guest" post.

Commenting is not available in this section entry.