Get Better Gear!

Premier Sponsors

Other World Computing

TechRestore

Top 5 Free Apps

Release Date: August 05, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: May 22, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: August 29, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: March 27, 2009
Release Date: August 07, 2009

iTunes New Music Releases

Release Date: September 29, 2009
Genre: Rock
Release Date: September 20, 2009
Release Date: September 15, 2009
Release Date: August 25, 2009
Genre: Rock
Release Date: August 25, 2009

Top 5 Paid Apps

Release Date: April 22, 2009
StickWars $0.99
Release Date: March 31, 2009
Genre: Games
Bloons $0.99
Release Date: April 05, 2009
Genre: Games

Discover New Music

  • Haunted

    • 10 out of 10
    • Poe
    • Dropping like a bomb on some of the blah musical offerings of her contemporaries, Haunted was one of the best albums of 2000, obliterating the competition.

      Ostensibly a tie-in to her brot

  • The Life Pursuit

    • 8 out of 10
    • Belle & Sebastian
    • The Life Pursuit is a sort of Reeses Peanut Butter Cup. You get Belle & Sebastian's peanut butter (its wistful, often irresistible pop) dipped in a 'Have A Nice Day!' and glam 70s chocol

  • Buffy the Vampire Slayer - Once More, with Feeling

    • 10 out of 10
    • Various Artists
    • Most musical episodes of TV shows frankly stink. They are usually little more than ill-conceived vehicles intended to let the stars show off what musical talent they have. Once More, With Feeling,

  • Aretha Sings the Blues

    • 6 out of 10
    • Aretha Franklin
    • While she didn't always have the best taste in song selection, Aretha Franklin is a must-study for anyone with interest in the human voice. She has the kind of powerful, recklessly passionate deliv

  • An Evening with George Shearing & Mel Torm�

    • 10 out of 10
    • Mel Torm� & George Shearing
    • Of the three men who taught me how to sing, the last was Mel Torme. Apparently, Mel Torme is a joke to anyone more than a decade older than me, a living parody of a Vegas crooner. But I stumbled on th

Reader Specials

Visit Deals On The Web for the best deals on all consumer electronics, iPods, and more!

In-Depth Review

Chess Pro for iPhone from 99Games

Chess Lite and Chess Pro from 99Games are Chess programs for the Apple iPhone. Chess Lite is for beginners who want to learn the rules and hone their skills. Chess Pro is for seasoned Chess players. Some early Chess programs for the iPhone have been criticized for various reasons, so iPO took a look at Chess Pro, the most recently introduced, full featured Chess program for the iPhone.

Both programs make use of a well tested Chess engine, GNU Chess, which is open source and available to any developers so long as they comply with the GNU Public License (GPL). On really fast hardware, GNU chess has an estimated ELO rating of 2750, but on the Apple iPhone, I wouldn't expect the program to be able to achieve that rating.


Wood Theme 9 (Chess Pro)

I selected the "Medium" strength playing level from "Easy," "Medium," and "Hard" and played a complete game -- which I won. The program was accurate and merciless at the Medium level, but my estimate, based on my previous experience is that the ELO rating is about 1700. If the Hard level could achieve an Expert Rating of 2000 on an iPhone, that would be sufficient to challenge all but the most advanced club and competitive players -- who, of course, would be developing their skills against human players and desktop Chess programs.

My game included castling on both sides, but didn't include en passant or promotions, so those functions remain untested.

I found the program to be easy to use. The player can drag pieces or, alternatively, touch the piece, then the destination square. There were no annoying UI issues or chess issues in the 30+ move game.

I did discover, however, that while a game in progress (up to five) can be saved and later resumed, the complete log of the game cannot be saved at the conclusion. The developer told iPO that the logging is disabled in order to improve performance. They are thinking about outputting a log of the game in a future version.

Features

  • Three levels of play
  • Opening book
  • Three GNU Chess variants: Normal, Suicide and Losers
  • Undo option
  • Next move hint
  • Legal moves highlighted
  • Save, Load, Resume
  • Play against friends or against the program as White or Black

Options Screen

Summary

In this "First Look" review of version 1.1, I found Chess Pro to be an error free and fun Chess game to play. There are several levels, playing modes and themes to choose from. The developer has been very approachable in e-mails, and I sense he's working hard to keep this program free of the criticisms that have plagued others. I believe the "Hard" level will keep 99 percent of the casual wood pushers continuously challenged, and the price is very modest.

The game requires OS X iPhone 2.0 or later.

Just The Facts

Chess Pro from 99Games

MSRP US$3.99

Pros:Capable of challenging play on an iPhone for casual players, easy, intuitive interface, great looking chess boards, modest price.

Cons:Cannot save log of finished game.

Post Your Comments

  Remember Me  Forgot your password?

Not a member? Register now. You can post comments without logging in, but they'll show up as a "guest" post.

Commenting is not available in this section entry.