Get Better Gear!

Premier Sponsors

Other World Computing

TechRestore

Top 5 Free Apps

Release Date: August 05, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: May 22, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: August 29, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: March 27, 2009
Release Date: August 07, 2009

iTunes New Music Releases

Release Date: September 29, 2009
Genre: Rock
Release Date: September 20, 2009
Release Date: September 15, 2009
Release Date: August 25, 2009
Genre: Rock
Release Date: August 25, 2009

Top 5 Paid Apps

Release Date: April 22, 2009
StickWars $0.99
Release Date: March 31, 2009
Genre: Games
Bloons $0.99
Release Date: April 05, 2009
Genre: Games

Discover New Music

  • One Word Extinguisher

    • 8 out of 10
    • Prefuse 73
    • It's an album about a breakup, done with beats instead of mopey lyrics. But the beats are raw, and the emotions are there, even if there aren't many words on top of it. While possibly not Scott Herren
  • Gimme Fiction

    • 10 out of 10
    • Spoon
    • Gimme Fiction by Spoon is a terrific album by an Austin band that I was lucky enough to catch on an Austin radio station during a Christmas visit.

  • So Jealous

    • 8 out of 10
    • Tegan and Sara
    • So Jealous is the third album from these sisters, and easily the one to single out for an introduction to their music. Some people may not get on board with their vocal styles, which are slightly

  • Wolfmother

    • 8 out of 10
    • Wolfmother
    • Black Sabbath, The White Stripes, The Stooges. There aren't many bands worth their salt that want to be compared to other bands, but when I listen to Wolfmother's self-titled American debut, I can

  • De Nova

    • 10 out of 10
    • The Redwalls
    • Wow! Perhaps my 5-star rating is simply because the Redwalls are not only new and fresh (none of them older than 22!), or perhaps its because -- despite their ages -- they are able to totally capture

Reader Specials

Visit Deals On The Web for the best deals on all consumer electronics, iPods, and more!

In-Depth Review

Griffin Elan Form

Griffin Technology's Elan Form is a new hard-shell case for iPhone 3G. On the outside it's top-grain leather; on the inside it's durable polycarbonate. It's relatively slim as iPhone cases go; it doesn't add a lot of bulk to your iPhone, so it still fits easily in most pockets.

Its fit and finish are first-rate. The pebble-grain leather (also available with a brown front and pink back) is handsome; the seams line up precisely; and all of the the cutouts for switches, ports, and controls are elegantly beveled.

It's the first case I've tested with Griffin's new EasyDock design, which lets you slide the lower part of the case off so it's easier to use in devices with a dock.

It's a smart idea and I found it quite useful although the case itself is so slim that I was able to dock it in some of my devices without having to remove the piece. Still, it's a fine answer to a vexing issue with many other cases, and if you dock your iPhone, it may be the best reason to consider this case.

Speaking of vexing, while I liked this case quite a bit overall, I did find a couple of things that could be improved, at least in my humble opinion.

First, while the Web site says you'll receive a "static peel screen protector," mine came with a rigid plastic one instead. I'd have much preferred the static peel kind. The rigid one decreases screen sensitivity somewhat and allows dust to collects beneath it, which means I have to remove and clean it more often. That's not a huge problem or a dealbreaker, but I'd still have preferred the softer static peel type.

The second thing is that there's no belt clip nor a way to affix one if you wanted to. This is strictly a slip-it-in and slip-it-out of your pocket or bag type of case.

The Bottom Line

The Elan Form for iPhone 3G is slim and elegant. And if you use a device with a dock, the EasyDock design is sweet. I prefer a flexible static peel screen protector over the included rigid plastic one, but I can live with it. Although it may not provide as much shock protection as some rubber or silicone cases, it offers adequate protection against impact and good protection against scratches and abrasions.

Just The Facts

Pros:Doesn't add much bulk, EasyDock design useful for docking, elegant looking with nice fit and finish.

Cons:Rigid screen protector decreases touch screen sensitivity, dust collects between screen and protector, no belt clip.

Post Your Comments

  Remember Me  Forgot your password?

Not a member? Register now. You can post comments without logging in, but they'll show up as a "guest" post.

Commenting is not available in this section entry.