Get Better Gear!

Premier Sponsors

Other World Computing

TechRestore

Top 5 Free Apps

Release Date: August 05, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: May 22, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: August 29, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: March 27, 2009
Release Date: August 07, 2009

iTunes New Music Releases

Release Date: September 29, 2009
Genre: Rock
Release Date: September 20, 2009
Release Date: September 15, 2009
Release Date: August 25, 2009
Genre: Rock
Release Date: August 25, 2009

Top 5 Paid Apps

Release Date: April 22, 2009
StickWars $0.99
Release Date: March 31, 2009
Genre: Games
Bloons $0.99
Release Date: April 05, 2009
Genre: Games

Discover New Music

  • Chicago Transit Authority

    • 10 out of 10
    • Chicago
    • For those of you who don't know, Chicago didn't always suck, and everyone in the band didn't always play a keyboard. When the band started off they were pioneers of rock and jazz fusion, and guita

  • Haunted

    • 10 out of 10
    • Poe
    • Dropping like a bomb on some of the blah musical offerings of her contemporaries, Haunted was one of the best albums of 2000, obliterating the competition.

      Ostensibly a tie-in to her brot

  • Stadium Arcadium

    • 8 out of 10
    • Red Hot Chili Peppers
    • What? Only four stars, you stingy bastard? I'm asking myself the same question, so let me explain myself to myself... If I compare the new

  • 8:30

    • 10 out of 10
    • Weather Report
    • This is Weather Reports quintessential line-up captured live. Jaco Pastorious and Peter Erskine join Wayne Shorter and, of course, Joe Zawinul to create this masterpiece.
  • Jagged Little Pill (Acoustic)

    • 6 out of 10
    • Alanis Morissette
    • Ten years after the original release, comes the traditional celebratory acoustic re-recording. The album has held up remarkably well. While it is not as meaningful to me as it was when I was sixteen,

Reader Specials

Visit Deals On The Web for the best deals on all consumer electronics, iPods, and more!

In-Depth Review

Griffin iTrip: Everyone’s Go-To iPod accessory

This Griffin Technology product has become everyone's go-to iPod accessory. The iTrip lets you play songs over any FM radio, on any frequency. This gadget makes it possible to pipe iPod music through just about any stereo, without using an auxiliary input.

Many such devices exist, but the iTrip is my favorite. It doesn't use a battery (it runs off the iPod's), and you change the station by playing iTrip songs right in your iPod. The little guy is rugged, too: I sent mine through the washing machine once, and after a few days of drying out, it worked fine.

Unfortunately, as with all FM transmitters, the iTrip broadcasts in less-than-great fidelity, and wimps out when passing by a radio tower, or when trying to transmit on an occupied channel. Still, for sheer convenience and slickness of design, the iTrip is a solid performer for the money.

Just The Facts

iTrip from Griffin Technology

MSRP $39.99
Street Price: $21.84 - From Amazon.

Pros:Light, small, and rugged; no batteries required.

Cons:Limited fidelity and range (as with all FM transmitters).

Post Your Comments

  Remember Me  Forgot your password?

Not a member? Register now. You can post comments without logging in, but they'll show up as a "guest" post.

Commenting is not available in this section entry.