Get Better Gear!

Premier Sponsors

Other World Computing

TechRestore

Top 5 Free Apps

Release Date: August 05, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: May 22, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: August 29, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: March 27, 2009
Release Date: August 07, 2009

iTunes New Music Releases

Release Date: September 29, 2009
Genre: Rock
Release Date: September 20, 2009
Release Date: September 15, 2009
Release Date: August 25, 2009
Genre: Rock
Release Date: August 25, 2009

Top 5 Paid Apps

Release Date: April 22, 2009
StickWars $0.99
Release Date: March 31, 2009
Genre: Games
Bloons $0.99
Release Date: April 05, 2009
Genre: Games

Discover New Music

  • Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not

    • 8 out of 10
    • Arctic Monkeys
    • Get on your dancing shoes
      You sexy little swine

      -Arctic

  • Every Day: The Best of the Verve Years

    • 8 out of 10
    • Joe Williams
    • Joe Williams was Figure Two in my three-man education in singing. A brilliant vocalist, scatter, and interpreter of jazz and blues, Williams produces music that's totally unique, yet sounds so effortl
  • Spanks for the Memories

    • 8 out of 10
    • Asylum Street Spankers
    • The Asylum Street Spankers are...well...The Spankers. Hailing from Austin, where I saw them live dozens of times, the band played entirely acousti

  • Buffy the Vampire Slayer - Once More, with Feeling

    • 10 out of 10
    • Various Artists
    • Most musical episodes of TV shows frankly stink. They are usually little more than ill-conceived vehicles intended to let the stars show off what musical talent they have. Once More, With Feeling,

  • Album Of The Year

    • 10 out of 10
    • Brother Love
    • Killer grooves, catchy riffs, edgy vocals with oh-so-just-right layered harmonies, and a drive that will move even YOU out of your chair, Brother Love's initial release is what rock and roll should be

Reader Specials

Visit Deals On The Web for the best deals on all consumer electronics, iPods, and more!

In-Depth Review

Marware C. E. O. Premiere Case for iPhone 3G

Marware's C. E. O. Premium Case is another handsome holster-style carrying case, available in black or white leather (as shown below).

This case is similar in many ways to the DLO HipCase I reviewed here recently. Both sit horizontally on your hip, which I feel is more comfortable than holsters that hang your iPhone vertically. Both are elegant, premium leather products. And both have integrated leather-covered belt clips (as shown here):

There are some subtle differences, too. For one thing, the Marware case offers more protection for the corners of your iPhone than the DLO HipCase. Both cases have open areas at each corner and the lower middle but the cutouts are significantly smaller on the Marware case.

Another difference is that you can order the black C.E.O. Premiere case direct from Marware and get it with a secure magnetic enclosure rather than Velcro. If you buy it anywhere else (i.e. the Apple Store, an AT&T store, etc.) it'll come with a Velcro fastener instead of a magnet. For what it's worth, the white case, (actually, "Vanilla") has a Velcro fastener no matter where you buy it.

Finally, the C.E.O. Premiere includes a clear protective film covering for your screen and a microfiber cleaning cloth; the DLO HipCase includes neither.

The Bottom Line

The Marware C. E. O. Premiere case is as nice a leather holster as any I've tested. It offers somewhat more protection for your iPhone than the DLO HipCase, and includes a screen protector and microfiber cloth. But, as I said in my HipCase review, "If you prefer a case that offers serious protection or one that doesn't require you to insert and remove your phone repeatedly to use it, neither of these holster-style cases is right for you." On the other hand, if you prefer a holster-style case, you'll be happy with either one.

Just The Facts

Pros:High-quality leather, screen protection, microfiber cloth, choice of magenetic or Velcro fastener (black only).

Cons:Openings could lead to scratches, have to remove phone to use it.

Post Your Comments

  Remember Me  Forgot your password?

Not a member? Register now. You can post comments without logging in, but they'll show up as a "guest" post.

Commenting is not available in this section entry.