Get Better Gear!

Premier Sponsors

Other World Computing

TechRestore

Top 5 Free Apps

Release Date: August 05, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: May 22, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: August 29, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: March 27, 2009
Release Date: August 07, 2009

iTunes New Music Releases

Release Date: September 29, 2009
Genre: Rock
Release Date: September 20, 2009
Release Date: September 15, 2009
Release Date: August 25, 2009
Genre: Rock
Release Date: August 25, 2009

Top 5 Paid Apps

Release Date: April 22, 2009
StickWars $0.99
Release Date: March 31, 2009
Genre: Games
Bloons $0.99
Release Date: April 05, 2009
Genre: Games

Discover New Music

  • Trouble

    • 8 out of 10
    • Ray LaMontagne
    • At first, Ray LaMontagne might strike you as just another breathy-voiced knockoff of folk/rock guitarists like John Mayer and Jack Johnson. But he's actually got a better voice than either, he tell

  • Plans

    • 8 out of 10
    • Death Cab for Cutie
    • With the introduction of Plans, Death Cab for Cutie became a new addition to many user's Artist list after the single "Soul Meets Body" became a hit on iTunes. Offering a fresh alternativ

  • Abnormal Anonymous

    • 8 out of 10
    • Congo Norvell
    • Very few albums manage to capture snapshots of a quality of life in the manner that Congo Norvell's sophomore record, "Abnormals Anonymous," does.

      Comparisons to the Velvet Underground are

  • Physical Graffiti

    • 10 out of 10
    • Led Zeppelin
    • This album bears every flavor of genius from the five records that came before. It is, I believe, the band's finest. With Physical Graffiti, Zep came raging back to their musical home territory -- har
  • How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb

    • 6 out of 10
    • U2
    • U2's latest entry is a mostly underwhelming collection of songs that does very little to sound any different from its equally pedestrian predecessor, 2000's "All That You Can't Leave Behind." While

Reader Specials

Visit Deals On The Web for the best deals on all consumer electronics, iPods, and more!

In-Depth Review

Tango X2 iPod speaker system

XtremeMac's Tango X2, the successor to their well-regarded but now discontinued Tango iPod speaker system (which I reviewed here last year), is a worthy successor, improved in many ways but still reasonably-priced. While I would argue with XtremeMac's billing it as, "the most full featured iPod home stereo system on the market," I have to admit it's a great sounding system with a respectable feature set for the price.

The original Tango was bigger in every dimension -- wider, deeper, and taller -- yet the more compact Tango X2 sounds as good or even better. It still sports a five speaker system with two full-range speakers, two tweeters, and a powered subwoofer. But the original Tango used a downward-firing subwoofer which I complained could, "cause vibration and rumble at higher listening levels, especially with bass-heavy rock, hip-hop, and rap tunes." The redesigned Tango X2's subwoofer no longer points downward. Instead, it's now rear-ported, which makes a big difference.

As a result, I didn't experience any of that vibration or rumble, even at high listening levels . In fact, I'd venture that the bass response was as good as any one-piece system in this price range that I've tested. Furthermore, since Tango X2 has both bass and treble controls, I was able to easily tailor the output to the type of music I was playing.

Another improvement I enjoyed was that this model includes an AM/FM radio, something the original Tango lacked. .

The only non-improvement I can think of is that the original Tango offered S-Video output so you could display video from a video iPod on a TV set; Tango X2 has no TV output. For what it's worth, that was a feature I thought was kind of neat, but one I never, ever used.

My only complaint is that there are three available presets for radio stations -- buttons labeled 1, 2, and 3 on the top of the unit . That's a good thing. The bad thing is that while you can tune the radio using the wireless remote, you can't use it to choose one of the presets. To do that you must walk over and press the appropriate button on the Tango X2.

Tango X2 is compatible with all dock connector iPod models 4th generation and later.

The Bottom Line

Tango X2 is one of the best sounding compact iPod speaker system we've tested at this price point and is definitely worthy of your consideration if you're in the market for such a system.

Just The Facts

Tango X2 from XtremeMac

MSRP US$149.95

Pros:Compact size, excellent sound, rear-ported subwoofer, AM/FM radio, wireless remote.

Cons:No video out, can't choose radio presets with remote.

Post Your Comments

  Remember Me  Forgot your password?

Not a member? Register now. You can post comments without logging in, but they'll show up as a "guest" post.

Commenting is not available in this section entry.