Get Better Gear!

Premier Sponsors

Other World Computing

TechRestore

Top 5 Free Apps

Release Date: August 05, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: May 22, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: August 29, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: March 27, 2009
Release Date: August 07, 2009

iTunes New Music Releases

Release Date: September 29, 2009
Genre: Rock
Release Date: September 20, 2009
Release Date: September 15, 2009
Release Date: August 25, 2009
Genre: Rock
Release Date: August 25, 2009

Top 5 Paid Apps

Release Date: April 22, 2009
StickWars $0.99
Release Date: March 31, 2009
Genre: Games
Bloons $0.99
Release Date: April 05, 2009
Genre: Games

Discover New Music

  • Rift

    • 8 out of 10
    • Phish
    • This quasi-concept album (the only of its kind) from these Vermonters finally showcased their ability to convey a message with a studio album, whereas previously they only succeeded in doing so live.
  • War of the Worlds

    • 10 out of 10
    • Jeff Wayne
    • With the new movie adaptation of H.G Wells' classic Sci Fi invasion tale, War of the Worlds, currently on theater screens everywhere, there's new interest in Jeff Wayne's rock opera version, and it is
  • Now Here Is Nowhere

    • 10 out of 10
    • Secret Machines
    • The Secret Machines' inaugural album, Now Here is Nowhere is both old and new in its sonic assault. The trio's surprisingly big sound evokes Pink Floyd (without ever sounding like any Pink

  • Wolfmother

    • 8 out of 10
    • Wolfmother
    • Black Sabbath, The White Stripes, The Stooges. There aren't many bands worth their salt that want to be compared to other bands, but when I listen to Wolfmother's self-titled American debut, I can

  • Every Day: The Best of the Verve Years

    • 8 out of 10
    • Joe Williams
    • Joe Williams was Figure Two in my three-man education in singing. A brilliant vocalist, scatter, and interpreter of jazz and blues, Williams produces music that's totally unique, yet sounds so effortl

Reader Specials

Visit Deals On The Web for the best deals on all consumer electronics, iPods, and more!

In-Depth Review

ARC Protective Case for iPhone 3G

RadTech's ARC case for the iPhone 3G is very much like the iFrogz Luxe case I reviewed here last November (click here to read it) in almost every way. For what it's worth, my bottom line on the Luxe was: 

I like everything about this case and at $19.99 it's a bargain.

Well I like the RadTech ARC case just as much and possibly even a tiny bit more. In fact, if I didn't know better I'd think the RadTech ARC was the new and improved version of the iFrogz Luxe. Side-by-side you'd be hard pressed to notice any differences at all. The biggest difference is that the RadTech ARC case has a half-circle clasp on the back where the upper and lower pieces connect where the iFrogz Luxe has a full-circle clasp.  

Rad Tech ARC case 1

As it turns out, that half-circle clasp (on the ARC) makes it a little easier to disengage the two case parts (than the full-circle clasp on the Luxe). So it's somewhat easier to remove your iPhone from the ARC than from the Luxe. I think if you're someone who removes your phone from its case frequently (for docking or cleaning or whatever), you'll prefer the ARC to the Luxe for this reason alone. 

The only other difference between the two is that the ARC lacks a screen protector and the Luxe includes one. The Luxe, however, costs $5 more, so that's kind of a wash. Furthermore, for a few bucks more RadTech offers three different kinds of screen protection (called ClearCal) -- anti-glare, transparent, or mirror. So with RadTech you can either spend a few more bucks and select the film you prefer, or save a few bucks if you don't care for screen protection. 

One other tiny difference: The RadTech ARC comes in just four colors -- black, silver, blue, and red. The iFrogz Luxe is available in a total of six colors including three colors the ARC doesn't offer  -- orange, green, and purple. But the Luxe isn't available in black, which has become my favorite color with its subtle and understated elegance.  

Other than that the ARC and the Luxe are more or less twins. Both are thin and lightweight, protecting as much of your iPhone as possible from scratches and scuffs. 

RadTechArc2

And both sport a cool velvety soft-touch finish that feels great in your hand. Finally, both cases are slender enough to allow docking in many (but not all) docking devices.

The Bottom Line

Rather than repeat myself, might I suggest you read the IFrogz Luxe case review (still here) to see how much I liked that case. I like this case as well or better, and I really like the low price (25% less than the Luxe's list price). 

Just The Facts

Pros:

Nice looking, soft-touch finish feels great, easy to get iPhone in or out, thin, lightweight, low price.

Cons:

Possibly less impact protection than some thicker/heavier cases, no screen protection included.

Post Your Comments

  Remember Me  Forgot your password?

Not a member? Register now. You can post comments without logging in, but they'll show up as a "guest" post.

Commenting is not available in this section entry.