Get Better Gear!

Premier Sponsors

TechRestore

Other World Computing

Top 5 Free Apps

Release Date: August 05, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: May 22, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: August 29, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: March 27, 2009
Release Date: August 07, 2009

iTunes New Music Releases

Release Date: September 29, 2009
Genre: Rock
Release Date: September 20, 2009
Release Date: September 15, 2009
Release Date: August 25, 2009
Genre: Rock
Release Date: August 25, 2009

Top 5 Paid Apps

Release Date: April 22, 2009
StickWars $0.99
Release Date: March 31, 2009
Genre: Games
Bloons $0.99
Release Date: April 05, 2009
Genre: Games

Discover New Music

  • Is This It

    • 10 out of 10
    • The Strokes
    • The Strokes set the music world on fire with this 2001 album, with headlines declaring that the New York band was here to save Rock and Roll. While the band hasn't made as much of a splash since t

  • Suspended Animation

    • 8 out of 10
    • Fantomas
    • Mike Patton may well be one of the hardest working men in showbiz these days, and his latest with Fantômas underscores just about how far out he is willing to travel.

      Suspended Animation

  • Supernature

    • 10 out of 10
    • Goldfrapp
    • On their latest CD, Supernature, Goldfrapp has put together a successful mix of 1980-era New Romanticism, German cabaret, and T. Rex glam that leaves you riveted even through the album's lulls. It's a great amalgam that sounds current without sounding at all dated.

  • Machine Gun Etiquette

    • 8 out of 10
    • The Damned
    • Punk rock is mostly associated with three chords and a bad attitude, but the Damned were one of the few bands of the era bent on bringing musicianship and a good sense of humor to the scene. And while
  • The Life Pursuit

    • 8 out of 10
    • Belle & Sebastian
    • The Life Pursuit is a sort of Reeses Peanut Butter Cup. You get Belle & Sebastian's peanut butter (its wistful, often irresistible pop) dipped in a 'Have A Nice Day!' and glam 70s chocol

Reader Specials

Visit Deals On The Web for the best deals on all consumer electronics, iPods, and more!

Quick Look Review

EOS Wireless Speaker System

I am sitting in my office listening to my favorite singer (Willie Nelson) sing my favorite song (Blue Eyes Crying In the Rain). If I walk into my bedroom, living room, kitchen, or garage I will also hear the same music. If I want to take the speaker from the garage and move it out to the patio all I have to do is unplug it and take it out there and plug it in because the whole system is wireless. The limitation I have is 150 feet from the base station. Doors, walls and ceilings are not an issue.

The music I am listening to is coming from my iPod. It can also come from a computer, Apple TV, MP3 players, home stereos, and satellite radios. The system I am listening to is compatible with any iPod with a docking connector, including the iPod touch, iPod nano and iPod classic as are all older iPod models with the exception of the iPod shuffles.

All of this is courtesy of the EOS Wireless Speaker System which broadcasts CD quality, interference free, audio.

EOS Wireless Core System With 3 Additional Speakers

 

The base station and the speakers include two full range drivers and a ported sub-woofer for "crystal clear highs and deep sounding bass."

Set Up

The units arrived very well packaged and it took longer to get them out of the box than it did to set them up. The speakers are simply plugged in and turned on. The base station didn't take much longer. There are several iPod holders included as part of the core system and I had to find the one that fit my particular iPod, fit it in the appropriate spot, insert my iPod, turn the machine on and punch two buttons to get everything started. Plugging in my iPod automatically turned it on.

The base station and each speaker has a sound control knob. I found this to be particularly useful in a room that was small. The base station has buttons on the front that allows easy switching from iPod to Auxiliary. When I switched from testing on my iPod and went to my Mac, I plugged in the auxiliary input cable and punched the AUX button. As soon as I open iTunes and started music it started playing over the system.

Size

The base station measures about 10 x 8-inches and it is about 8 inches thick. The speakers measure 7 x 7-inches and they stick out from the wall almost four inches. There is a unique design feature built into each of the speakers: The plug-in base will lift out from the unit and the unit can be placed on a table or desk and the cord plugged into the wall like a lamp or a radio.

The Bottom Line

I love this system. It was easy to set up and it is easy to use. It gives good sound and I love that I can hear my music all over my house with so little effort. The set up information that accompanied the system was clear and easy to follow. This non-teckie had it going in less than 10 minutes and that included unpacking the boxes. There is a one year warranty, a 30 day money back guarantee, and phone and email support information on their Web site.

 

Just The Facts

EOS Wireless Speaker System from EOS Wireless

MSRP $249.00 (Core System) $129.99 (Additional Speakers)

Pros:

Easy to set up, easy to use, good sound. Works with iPods, computers, Apple TV, MP3 players, home stereos, and satellite radios. The 30 day money back guarantee means you can check it out. You can start with the basic core grouping and add speakers, or buy the whole set all at once for maximum benefit. If you move, it moves with you, and it works through doors and ceilings.

 

Cons:

None identified.

 

2 comments from the community.

You can post your own below.

azarkon said:

This review seems a little too unprincipled to me.  The first paragraph sounds like it was lifted verbatim from advertisement copy.  I know that TMO/iPO have audiophiles on their payroll, so the tertiary discussion of sound quality of these speakers (either “good” or “crystal clear highs and deep sounding bass.”—literally copied from the packaging) is a serious omission from this review.  How does it sound compared to other iPod dock systems?  It also appears that the satellite speakers have the left and right channels attached, so it seems like these speakers aren’t going to get decent stereo imaging.

Since this was a wireless item, I would expect to see the capabilities of the wireless tested instead of just accepting the advertised 150 ft.  Does the signal actually reach 150 ft through walls, and if not, what is a practical limit on distance?  Is the sound at the edge of the the wireless range degraded or intermittent?  What bandwidth does it use, and does it play nicely with WiFi and/or cordless phones?  Is there latency if using with apple TV or if you have a satellite speaker near the base unit are they in sync?

I get this product worked well for you, but I would expect review quality here to be a level above the user reviews at amazon, and this review didn’t measure up.

   Quote

Erik said:

Never heard of that speaker company before, but after reading your post, I’ll definitely check them out when I get a chance.

Audio Receiver

   Quote

Page 1 of 1 pages

Post Your Comments

  Remember Me  Forgot your password?

Not a member? Register now. You can post comments without logging in, but they'll show up as a "guest" post.

Commenting is not available in this section entry.