Get Better Gear!

Premier Sponsors

TechRestore

Other World Computing

Top 5 Free Apps

Release Date: August 05, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: May 22, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: August 29, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: March 27, 2009
Release Date: August 07, 2009

iTunes New Music Releases

Release Date: September 29, 2009
Genre: Rock
Release Date: September 20, 2009
Release Date: September 15, 2009
Release Date: August 25, 2009
Genre: Rock
Release Date: August 25, 2009

Top 5 Paid Apps

Release Date: April 22, 2009
StickWars $0.99
Release Date: March 31, 2009
Genre: Games
Bloons $0.99
Release Date: April 05, 2009
Genre: Games

Discover New Music

  • Mezzanine

    • 6 out of 10
    • Massive Attack
    • "Black Milk" knocks me off my feet in this collection of moody and eclectic songs. Massive Attack uses samples and keyboards in a very unique way, but not all the songs pack the same punch.

  • De Nova

    • 10 out of 10
    • The Redwalls
    • Wow! Perhaps my 5-star rating is simply because the Redwalls are not only new and fresh (none of them older than 22!), or perhaps its because -- despite their ages -- they are able to totally capture
  • Cocked & Loaded

    • 8 out of 10
    • Revolting Cocks
    • It's hard to believe it's been more than a decade since Ministry founder and front man Al Jourgensen's side project Revolting Cocks released any new material. 2006 brings us Cocked and Loaded

  • War of the Worlds

    • 10 out of 10
    • Jeff Wayne
    • With the new movie adaptation of H.G Wells' classic Sci Fi invasion tale, War of the Worlds, currently on theater screens everywhere, there's new interest in Jeff Wayne's rock opera version, and it is
  • With Teeth

    • 4 out of 10
    • Nine Inch Nails
    • In the sprawling post-A&R rock and roll world, there are two camps: the Beatles and the Stones. The Beatles are the artists that like to explore, evolve, and change styles. The Stones are the artis

Reader Specials

Visit Deals On The Web for the best deals on all consumer electronics, iPods, and more!

In-Depth Review

Cro-Mag Rally

Cro-Mag Rally is an enjoyable caveman/cavewoman-themed racing game for the iPhone or iPod touch. And with 9 tracks, 11 vehicles, and a plethora of power-ups and prehistoric weapons, there's enough variety to keep you interested for a good long time. It's a lot of fun, and at the "sale" price of $1.99 (see, "There is one last thing" at the end of this review for details), it's a bargain.

To play, you begin by choosing one of the two race "modes." In the standard Race mode, the object is to beat three other cave people in a three lap race; in the Gather mode, the object is to gather arrowheads by running over them (while you race three other cave people).

Next you choose one of the 11 available vehicles such as the Mammoth Mobile shown here:

After that you choose one of the 9 available tracks, such as the Jungle track shown here:

Finally, you choose your driver, either Brog the caveman or Grag the cavewoman as shown here:

Once you tap your driver, the race is on! Now, just drive as fast as you can, run over as many power-ups and weapons as you can, and get ahead of the three other vehicles if you can.

The interface is the model of simplicity. You tilt your iPhone or iPod touch left or right to steer, and you touch the accelerator, brake, and thrower icons to go, stop, or throw a weapon.

On screen indicators show you your place in the race (1st, 2nd, 3d, or my usual place, 4th), what lap you're on, and a map showing all four vehicles on the track. There are also indicators for how much longer the active power-up will last and how many weapons or power-ups you have in your inventory.

Here's a picture of me in the lead (a rare occurrence) of a race on the Giza track!

Of course it's only the first lap (each race is 3 laps), so there's still plenty of time for me to mess things up. And, I assure you that's just what happened shortly after the screen shot above was snapped. You can see that I have two weapons -- bottle rockets I can fire at my opponents. Other weapons (not shown) include homing pigeons, oil slicks, bones, and Roman candles.

Here's a picture of me racing on the Glacier track:

Notice that I have two Freeze Bomb weapons and 16 seconds of the Sticky Tire power-up remaining. The Freeze Bomb will freeze opponents caught in its shockwave for a few seconds; the Sticky Tire power-up makes it easier to steer and stay on the track.

Unlike some racing games, Cro-Mag Rally lets you adjust the steering sensitivity, which I found quite helpful. And, also unlike some other racing games, Cro-Mag Rally gives you a choice of difficulty settings -- Easy, Medium, or Hard -- so you can continue to be challenged and play for a good long time.

My only real complaint is that objects in the distance are occasionally difficult to discern. I occasionally ran into bad stuff because it looked like good stuff until I got real close.

There is one last thing: The game is currently "on sale" for just $1.99. Its price will return to $5.99 at some time in the future, so if Cro-Mag Rally sounds like the kind of game you'd enjoy, may I suggest you buy it sooner for $1.99 rather than later for $5.99.

The Bottom Line

This is a really fun racing game. The graphics are somewhat crude compared to photorealistic racing games I've tried (such as the excellent Asphalt 4 Elite Racing, which I'll review here soon) but the physics engine is excellent and the fun factor is high. If you like racing games, you'll almost certainly like Cro-Mag Rally. At the current sale price of $1.99, you can't go wrong.

Just The Facts

Cro-Mag Rally from Pangea Software

MSRP US$1.99/$5.99

Pros:Fun, lots of variety, great physics, good selection of settings.

Cons:Graphics are kind of crude, sometimes difficult to see objects in the distance.

Post Your Comments

  Remember Me  Forgot your password?

Not a member? Register now. You can post comments without logging in, but they'll show up as a "guest" post.

Commenting is not available in this section entry.