Get Better Gear!

Premier Sponsors

Other World Computing

TechRestore

Top 5 Free Apps

Release Date: August 05, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: May 22, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: August 29, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: March 27, 2009
Release Date: August 07, 2009

iTunes New Music Releases

Release Date: September 29, 2009
Genre: Rock
Release Date: September 20, 2009
Release Date: September 15, 2009
Release Date: August 25, 2009
Genre: Rock
Release Date: August 25, 2009

Top 5 Paid Apps

Release Date: April 22, 2009
StickWars $0.99
Release Date: March 31, 2009
Genre: Games
Bloons $0.99
Release Date: April 05, 2009
Genre: Games

Discover New Music

  • De Nova

    • 10 out of 10
    • The Redwalls
    • Wow! Perhaps my 5-star rating is simply because the Redwalls are not only new and fresh (none of them older than 22!), or perhaps its because -- despite their ages -- they are able to totally capture
  • Music Has The Right To Children

    • 10 out of 10
    • Boards of Canada
    • This one will haunt you. From the first notes to the last, their sound surrounds you. BOC has put out a fantastic catalogue, and this album is a great starting point for a new listener. Jump straight
  • Machine Gun Etiquette

    • 8 out of 10
    • The Damned
    • Punk rock is mostly associated with three chords and a bad attitude, but the Damned were one of the few bands of the era bent on bringing musicianship and a good sense of humor to the scene. And while
  • How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb

    • 6 out of 10
    • U2
    • U2's latest entry is a mostly underwhelming collection of songs that does very little to sound any different from its equally pedestrian predecessor, 2000's "All That You Can't Leave Behind." While

  • Rock Spectacle

    • 8 out of 10
    • Barenaked Ladies
    • These guys know how to put on a live show, and whomever recorded this knows how to capture one. Rock Spectacle is one of the warmest-sounding recordings I've ever heard, and totally fills a room at a

Reader Specials

Visit Deals On The Web for the best deals on all consumer electronics, iPods, and more!

In-Depth Review

wurdle

wurdle is a reasonably-priced ($1.99), totally addicting, fast, fun word game in the tradition of Boggle with a touch of Scrabble. (And yes, wurdle is indeed spelled with a lower case "w.") 

At the start of a game a random grid of letter tiles appears looking something like this: 

wordle

A red trail appears as you drag your finger across the letter tiles to spell words and the letters you've dragged through appear below the grid, like this: 

wurdle 2

When you've spelled a word correctly a pleasant tone lets you know it (assuming you have sound effects enabled) and when you lift your finger the number of points awarded for the word (120 in the picture above) floats across the screen and the points are added to your score (0 in the picture above). The longer the word, the more points it's worth. When there are five seconds remaining, a countdown appears over the tiles as shown here: 

wurdle 3

And that's about it. Drag your finger and keep making words until time runs out.  

I like that the game can be customized to your liking. For example, you can play on a 4 by 4, 5 by 5, 6 by 6, 7 by 7, or 8 by 8 grid. And you can select a game length of 1, 2, 3, 5, or unlimited minutes and minimum word length of 3, 4, or 5 letters. Finally, you can easily customize the look of both the tiles and the wallpaper as you can see in the figures above.

For what it's worth, I like playing on a 5 by 5 or 6 by 6 grid because my fat fingers have trouble tapping the smaller 7 by 7 or 8 by 8 tiles. And I find 2 minutes plenty long enough for me. Your mileage may vary which is why it's so nice to have options.

My only complaint about this game, and it's a little one, is that I think you should receive more points when you use "harder" letters such as Q, Z, and X in a word, but you don't.  

A couple more things: 

My wife likes it a lot, too, possibly even more than I do. 

Even after a couple of weeks I still suck. My high score for a 2 minute game is 2,320, but according to the Semi Secret Software Web site, the highest recorded score for a 2 minute game is a whopping 36,100. 

The Bottom Line

wurdle is a challenging, addicting, easily customized word puzzle game. If you like words you'll almost certainly like this game as much as I do. And seeing how I can't stop playing it, that's a lot. 

Just The Facts

wurdle from Semi Secret Software

MSRP US$1.99

Pros:

 

Quick games, very addictive, lots of options.


 

Cons:

 

"Harder" letters don't score more points. 


 

Post Your Comments

  Remember Me  Forgot your password?

Not a member? Register now. You can post comments without logging in, but they'll show up as a "guest" post.

Commenting is not available in this section entry.