Get Better Gear!

Premier Sponsors

TechRestore

Other World Computing

Top 5 Free Apps

Release Date: August 05, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: May 22, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: August 29, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: March 27, 2009
Release Date: August 07, 2009

iTunes New Music Releases

Release Date: September 29, 2009
Genre: Rock
Release Date: September 20, 2009
Release Date: September 15, 2009
Release Date: August 25, 2009
Genre: Rock
Release Date: August 25, 2009

Top 5 Paid Apps

Release Date: April 22, 2009
StickWars $0.99
Release Date: March 31, 2009
Genre: Games
Bloons $0.99
Release Date: April 05, 2009
Genre: Games

Discover New Music

  • Pretty Hate Machine

    • 8 out of 10
    • Nine Inch Nails
    • For years I wanted to make music that sounded like something between Love and Rockets and Ministry. In 1989, Trent Reznor beat me to it with this genre-defining album, and it smacked me upside the hea
  • Modern Lovers

    • 10 out of 10
    • Modern Lovers
    • This timeless masterpiece is little known, but it has inspired almost as many bands as The Modern Lovers' own inspiration -- and only slightly better known -- The Velvet Underground & Nico.

  • With Teeth

    • 4 out of 10
    • Nine Inch Nails
    • In the sprawling post-A&R rock and roll world, there are two camps: the Beatles and the Stones. The Beatles are the artists that like to explore, evolve, and change styles. The Stones are the artis

  • The Last 5 Years (2002 Off-Broadway Cast)

    • 10 out of 10
    • Jason Robert Brown
    • The soundtrack to this moving off-broadway musical is heart moving. The lyrics follow a couple in a relationship for five years, one point of view going forward in time, and the other tracing time fr
  • Kind of Blue

    • 10 out of 10
    • Miles Davis
    • The jazz album to end all jazz albums. Miles Davis and John Coltrane and Cannonball Adderly and the list goes on. The who's who of who's who in jazz have assembled for this monumental record. Get this

Reader Specials

Visit Deals On The Web for the best deals on all consumer electronics, iPods, and more!

In-Depth Review

iFrogz Luxe iPhone 3G Case

I have several dozen iPhone and iPod cases in my office waiting to be reviewed, so I change my iPhone case more often than many people change shirts. I've tested a lot of good ones and a couple of bad ones, but the iFrogz Luxe is the only one I liked so much I bought a second one (retail) so I could have this terrific case in more than one color.

Allow me to digress for a moment... If I had my druthers I'd cover my iPhone with invisibleSHIELD or BodyGuardz and not use a case at all. I'm pretty careful with my iPhone so I don't worry much about dropping it or smashing it into something. I like to carry it in the front pocket of shorts or slacks or the in the breast pocket of my shirt so the thin, tough protection of invisibleSHIELD or BodyGuardz is all I really want or need. That said, being the Reviews Director here at the iPod Observer I need to be able to easily slide my iPhone in and out of several cases a week, a day or even an hour. And unfortunately, if a device has invisibleSHIELD or BodyGuardz applied to it, it can be quite difficult to insert or remove from many cases.

Since I can't use invisibleSHIELD or BodyGuardz for the aforementioned reason, my personal criteria for an iPhone case is that it must be as thin, light in weight, and protect as much of my iPhone as possible from scratches and scuffs. And, although the iPhone screen is amazingly scratch-resistant without any protection, I feel better when it's covered with a thin layer of something, so I prefer cases that include some type of screen protection over those that don't.

With that criteria in mind, the iFrogz Luxe case is just right for my needs. Its hard shell plastic case is among the thinnest I've seen, the metallic colors are absolutely stunning, it includes a screen protector, and the whole case has a velvety soft-touch finish that feels great.

The pictures above are good but don't do justice; in real life the Luxe cases are much prettier. The case is available in the six colors shown below, but again, the actual cases look far better and the colors are much more vibrant and deeply saturated.

I get comments all the time when I'm using the Luxe case. Everyone wants to know where to get one. Several friends and acquaintances (as well as my son) have bought Luxe cases and so far not a single one has been disappointed.

The Bottom Line

I like everything about this case and at $19.99 it's a bargain.


Just The Facts

Pros:

Beautiful, soft-touch finish feels great, thin, light in weight.

Cons:

Possibly less impact protection than some cases.

1 comments from the community.

You can post your own below.

oded said:

Hey, thanks for the review. smile
just wanted to ask you if the Luxe for the 2G iPhone is the same thing…
I didn’t find any review on it but ordered one for 10$ because of the 3G case reviews.

  thanks.

   Quote

Page 1 of 1 pages

Post Your Comments

  Remember Me  Forgot your password?

Not a member? Register now. You can post comments without logging in, but they'll show up as a "guest" post.

Commenting is not available in this section entry.