Get Better Gear!

Premier Sponsors

Other World Computing

TechRestore

Top 5 Free Apps

Release Date: August 05, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: May 22, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: August 29, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: March 27, 2009
Release Date: August 07, 2009

iTunes New Music Releases

Release Date: September 29, 2009
Genre: Rock
Release Date: September 20, 2009
Release Date: September 15, 2009
Release Date: August 25, 2009
Genre: Rock
Release Date: August 25, 2009

Top 5 Paid Apps

Release Date: April 22, 2009
StickWars $0.99
Release Date: March 31, 2009
Genre: Games
Bloons $0.99
Release Date: April 05, 2009
Genre: Games

Discover New Music

  • Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not

    • 8 out of 10
    • Arctic Monkeys
    • Get on your dancing shoes
      You sexy little swine

      -Arctic

  • Supernature

    • 10 out of 10
    • Goldfrapp
    • On their latest CD, Supernature, Goldfrapp has put together a successful mix of 1980-era New Romanticism, German cabaret, and T. Rex glam that leaves you riveted even through the album's lulls. It's a great amalgam that sounds current without sounding at all dated.

  • Is This It

    • 10 out of 10
    • The Strokes
    • The Strokes set the music world on fire with this 2001 album, with headlines declaring that the New York band was here to save Rock and Roll. While the band hasn't made as much of a splash since t

  • Go Away White

    • 10 out of 10
    • Bauhaus
    • Go Away White is an album I've been waiting more than 20 years to hear, and the good news is that it was worth the wait.  The latest -- and last, no...for real this time -- album from

  • The Wall (Deluxe Packaging Digitally Remastered)

    • 10 out of 10
    • Pink Floyd
    • Okay, someone had to say it, and though others on the iPO staff are more qualified to review this album, I decided the time was now. This is the quintessential concept album. Though others came before

Reader Specials

Visit Deals On The Web for the best deals on all consumer electronics, iPods, and more!

In-Depth Review

Scosche kickBACK iPhone case

In the past if I wanted to watch video on my iPhone on a plane, I would either have to hold the phone in my hand the whole time or lean it precariously against a book or other object on my tray table. Neither option was particularly appealing. Well I've been doing a bit of air travel this month and I've found the Scosche kickBACK iPhone case to be nearly perfect for seatback tray tables in coach.

Here's a cool feature: It not only includes the back with a retractable kickstand for easy video viewing as shown above, it also includes a second, smooth back for times when a kickstand isn't necessary, as shown below.

This clear case is fabricated from clear high-impact polycarbonate and comes with three sets of interchangeable rubber bumpers -- shown in pink in the first photo, clear in the second photo, and black in the picture below -- a nice touch.

For what it's worth, the kickstand is unobtrusive and flush with the case when not in use so it slides easily in and out of your pocket.

Other extras include a laminated screen cover, cleaning cloth, and since the front and back snap together quite securely, there's also a polycarbonate key for easily separating the front and back.

The kickBACK case provides excellent protection for your iPhone and its screen, and the switchable backs are a great option if you watch a lot of video on your iPhone. About the only drawback I can think of is that the polycarbonate is too thick to allow its use with most docks.

The Bottom Line

Sturdy and secure, the kickBACK case is a great choice if you like to watch wide-screen video on your iPhone and not hold it in your hand the whole time.

Just The Facts

kickBACK iPhone case from Scosche

MSRP US$29.99

Pros:

Two backs (one with kickstand), very good iPhone and screen protection, interchangeable bumpers.

Cons:

Too thick to use in most docks.

Post Your Comments

  Remember Me  Forgot your password?

Not a member? Register now. You can post comments without logging in, but they'll show up as a "guest" post.

Commenting is not available in this section entry.