Get Better Gear!

Premier Sponsors

TechRestore

Other World Computing

Top 5 Free Apps

Release Date: August 05, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: May 22, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: August 29, 2009
Genre: Games
Release Date: March 27, 2009
Release Date: August 07, 2009

iTunes New Music Releases

Release Date: September 29, 2009
Genre: Rock
Release Date: September 20, 2009
Release Date: September 15, 2009
Release Date: August 25, 2009
Genre: Rock
Release Date: August 25, 2009

Top 5 Paid Apps

Release Date: April 22, 2009
StickWars $0.99
Release Date: March 31, 2009
Genre: Games
Bloons $0.99
Release Date: April 05, 2009
Genre: Games

Discover New Music

  • Never Let Me Down [ECD]

    • 4 out of 10
    • David Bowie
    • It must be a lonely place to be considered David Bowie's worst album by just about everyone, including the artist himself. As the last album before Bowie "rebooted" and formed the band Tin Machine, "N
  • Mezzanine

    • 6 out of 10
    • Massive Attack
    • "Black Milk" knocks me off my feet in this collection of moody and eclectic songs. Massive Attack uses samples and keyboards in a very unique way, but not all the songs pack the same punch.

  • Hello

    • 8 out of 10
    • Poe
    • Poe rocked my world with "Angry Johnny" (I want to kill you/I want to blow you/Away) and "Trigger Happy Jack" (Trigger Happy Jack/ You're gonna blow/But I'm gonna get off/Before you go), as powe

  • Pretty Hate Machine

    • 8 out of 10
    • Nine Inch Nails
    • For years I wanted to make music that sounded like something between Love and Rockets and Ministry. In 1989, Trent Reznor beat me to it with this genre-defining album, and it smacked me upside the hea
  • Life's Rich Pageant

    • 8 out of 10
    • R.E.M.
    • In the long series of R.E.M.'s evolution, this album (finally?) showcases their ability to capture on tape what had been happening in the live for years: heartfelt, sweat-filled performances that just

Reader Specials

Visit Deals On The Web for the best deals on all consumer electronics, iPods, and more!

In-Depth Review

Air Sharing

A few weeks ago I gave a five star reveiw to a product called FileMagnet, an iPhone/iPod touch application that lets you easily transfer document files such as PDF, JPG, DOC, XLS, PPT, and many others from your Mac to your iPod. A few days after the review ran, a similar product called Air Sharing appeared. In a nutshell, it does the same things FileMagnet does but has several distinct advantages.

  1. It doesn't require a separate desktop application.
  2. It isn't a Mac-only product -- it can be used with Windows, Linux, or any operating system that supports WiFi and offers a Web browser.
  3. While it will sell for $6.99 (and be worth every penny) starting next week, there's currently a special introductory offer and Avatron Software is giving Air Sharing away for FREE!

So before you read any further, may I suggest you visit the iTunes store and grab your free copy before it's too late. (To do it now, just click here).

Now, here's how it works: Air Sharing uses an ingenious method to allow you to copy files from your computer to your iPhone/iPod touch -- just launch the program on your device and it makes your iPhone/iPod touch appear on your computer desktop as a shared disk. On the Mac, it's as easy as typing Air Sharing's IP address in the Finder's Connect to Server dialog (Go-->Connect to Server... or Command-K) as shown here:

Then, just drag files (or folders full of files) onto the shared volume and they are copied to your device. Then, you can view them in the Air Sharing application anytime you like.

Air Sharing's user interface is the model of simplicity. Tap any item in its file list. If it's a folder, it reveals its contents; if it's a file, it appears on the screen after a few seconds.

There's even a great shortcut that lets you navigate through your folders by tapping the navigation bar (the blue bar with "Resumes" in its middle in this image):

Air Sharing lets you view files of many types including:

  • iWork (Pages, Numbers, and Keynote), at full resolution if you save them with a preview. Here's what a Pages document looks like on screen:

  • Microsoft Office (Word, Excel, and PowerPoint), with limited support for XML formats. Here's an Excel worksheet:

  • Web Archive (web-page downloads packaged by Safari) are particularly cool because links (such as Country List and World Factbook Home in the picture below) are live and display the appropriate page right in the Air Sharing application when you tap them.

  • PDF

  • Web page
  • HTML
  • RTF (Rich Text Format)
  • RTFD (TextEdit documents with embedded images)
  • Source code (C/C++, Objective C/C++, C#, Java, Javascript, XML, shell scripts, Perl, Ruby, Python, and more), with color-coded formatting
  • Movie (standard iPhone formats: H.264, MPEG-4, 3GPP, etc.)
  • Audio (standard iPhone formats: MP3 VBR, AAC, Audible, Apple Lossless, AIFF, WAV, CAF, etc.)
  • Image (standard iPhone formats: GIF, PNG, JPG, TIFF, etc.)
  • Plain text (many different file extensions), with Unicode support.

Speaking of plain text files, I like Air Sharing better than FileMagnet for their display. Since a picture is worth a thousand words, the one below should explain:

The Bottom Line

If you want to view files on your iPhone or iPod touch, you'd have to be an idiot not to download Air Sharing right away before the introductory offer (free) expires sometime next week. But even if you didn't manage to grab a free copy I still recommend Air Sharing, even at its regular price of $6.99.

Just The Facts

Pros:No software required on your computer, easy to use, supports wide variety of file formats, files look great on screen.

Cons:None.

Post Your Comments

  Remember Me  Forgot your password?

Not a member? Register now. You can post comments without logging in, but they'll show up as a "guest" post.

Commenting is not available in this section entry.